Shopping is my cardio

Was driving in the car with K this morning. We pass by a group of moms jogging with their strollers.
K: “What are they doing?”
Me: “Oh they are exercising”
K: “How come we don’t exercise?”
I thought about the various truths that I could tell him….about how shopping is cardio, and how mommy doesn’t like to sweat…. but I kept it simple…
Me: “Because mommy has been blessed with good genes.”

your_mom-500x500

For anyone who knows me well…. they know that I hate to exercise. I have been blessed with good genes… but also find other ways to burn calories. I mean, come on… my son is a whooping 35 lbs. That is a work out in its own. Also…. shopping really IS cardio! Walking up and down aisles, arm movements through hangers of garments, pushing shopping carts or lifting shopping baskets. Hey… it all counts. Different strokes for different folks. You’ll never catch me in a mommy-stroller-group at the butt crack of dawn. But I’ll be first in line at Target the day after any holiday. 🙂

untitled

For all you shoppers out there… you are burning calories! Check out the numbers from this article as it states:

“A more competitive “super-shopper” may walk up to 5 mall-miles in a three-hour
shopping spree. Along with lots of fidgeting, reaching for merchandise, and
waving at friends, calorie burning can top 500 calories for our 100 pound person
and up to 1,000 calories or more for the more substantial 200- to 300-pound
shoppers. This level of shopping should not be attempted without proper
training, or you may find yourself “hitting the mall.”

ccf9ed185700d91808474bcf1e17a0be

Oh la la… 5 ways to burn calories without exercise?? Works for me.

2bcffbc02198d607a4179f19cdec65c8

 

3 thoughts on “Shopping is my cardio

  1. LOL!!!!! You are hilarious! I wish I were blessed with good genes like you! You always look amazing. I hate sweating too! Unfortunately I do have to do some sort of work out or at least go on 45 min power walks to keep off anymore lbs off my full figure. blagh! I’ve thought about joining those jogging mom groups but omg all the classes are in the early morning. My toddler and I both like to sleep in! Maybe if someone started an afternoon class then I might consider haha. And yes shopping totally counts as workout and also as a sport. Thanks for the laughs! 😀

Leave a Reply

