Gender Specific Play

1493158_657828814269253_2123472515_n

To me, it’s not a big deal.

I have a son and a daughter, so at our house, we have toys of all sorts. We have an equal amount of dolls as we do cars. Does it matter to me if my son is playing with the cars? No. And it doesn’t matter to me if my son is playing with the dolls either. I’ve seen my son pick up one of my daughter’s dolls and cradle it like a baby. And he’s ever so gentle with it. So what? I actually see it translate to how gentle he is around real-life babies, like when we have friends that visit with their infants. I honestly don’t see it as translating into anything further than that at this point.

My son throws on a tutu every once in a while and it’s just clothes to him. Why scold him for something that has no gender meaning right now. I’ll even paint one fingernail for him when I’m doing manicures for my daughter. Just one though. That’s where a draw the line. HAHAHAH

Everyone is entitled to their opinions. This can certainly be a controversial topic, but ultimately, I don’t believe there to be a right or wrong answer for a 2-year-old.

Some great articles about the movement towards gender-neutral toys:

When Kids Play Across Gender Lines / CNN

Toys ‘R’ Us to cut out gender-specific marketing / MSN

Concerned parent group Play Unlimited launches online campaign / ABC

Leave a Reply

